12 members of Mordovian OCG Southwest were sentenced

12 members of Mordovian OCG Southwest were sentenced

On September 13 in Saransk, sentences of 12 members of one of the most famous OCG of 90s, the criminal gang Yugo-Zapad (South-West), which operated in Mordovia were announced.

The press service of the Supreme Court of Mordovia reported that defendants were found guilty of banditry, the organization of a criminal association, extortion, looting and illicit arms trafficking.

The terms in a strict regime colony for the gang members varies from 4.6 to 18.6 years, one of the members of the criminal community was exempted from punishment due to statute of limitations. The majority of those sentenced either had already served previous sentences for previous offenses, or were under house arrest.

The group was created in the late 1980s in the Leninsky District of Saransk. For over 10 years, the gang committed various offenses both in the capital of Mordovia and in its regions. The main genus of its activity was protection of local entrepreneurs and heads of municipal enterprises.

A few years later, the OCG divided into two relatively independent groups: the South-West Konnovskiye and South-West Blokhinskiye, called so by the names of their leaders, who then began to clash.

From 2002 to 2005, the members of South-West Konnovskiye committed murder and attempted murder of members of South-West Blokhinskiye, as well as several residents of the republic.

In addition, the accused killed three residents of the city of Naberezhnye Chelny. Their remains were found in different parts of Saransk and its suburbs.

The trial of South-West lasted for more than two years. As a result, the leader of the gang, a former lawyer Vladimir Firsov, nicknamed Kuzma received an aggregate of previous punishments and by partial addition of terms 18.6 years.

In addition, in respect of pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage, he must pay the injured 6 million rubles.

The other members of the gang were sentenced by the court to the following punishment: Alexander Lebedev - 16 years, Alexey Vasin - 11 years and 3 months, Alexey Yudin - 15 years, 10 months and a fine of 200 thousand rubles, Vitaly Vidyakov - 9.5 years, Alexander Shekshaev - 11 years 3 months, Oleg Vdovin - 6.5 years, Stanislav Bulychev - 6 years, Mikhail Yershov - 4.5 years, Dmitry Velmakin - 5 years, Dmitry Kryukov - 4.5 years. The last seven were taken into custody in the courtroom immediately after the verdict.



1 / 3