Sobchak proposes to repeal 'censorship' law

Sobchak proposes to repeal 'censorship' law
Kseniya Sobchak

She stated this during the debates on Channel One.

In the course of the pre-election debate presidential hopeful Kseniya Sobchak proposed to repeal Article 282 of the Criminal Code on Incitement of Hatred or Enmity. She stated this at the debates on Channel One.

"In our program, as you know, we are for the abolition of Article 282, because this article, which was allegedly made to fight extremists, is used against people who like the posts of dissenters in Russia... Just like Yarovaya's package, which enables all special services to monitor each of us," - RIA Novosti quotes her words.

"Yarovaya's package will be used in the business interests of thievish officials, so I am in favor of repealing Article 282, and of disembodying the department - the so-called E, which ostensibly fights extremists, but in fact it fights dissenters," added Sobchak.

The presidential candidate from the LDPR, Vladimir Zhirinovsky, admitted that the law does not work properly, but noted that it is impossible to completely abolish the article. "It sounded here that supposedly hypocrisy... We adopt all the laws, (if) it hiccups, is not interpreted right, we start to alter it. When the 282nd article was adopted, no one was detained, no one even said a word. But in the last 10 years we see: people are detained on other elements of crimes, however Article 282 is imputed. It will not be abolished, no matter who comes (to power), because if the article is canceled, the whole country will be flooded with fires of interethnic and interreligious clashes. The basis of the article is that first there should be no interethnic clashes, and then there are social ones too, it needs to be altered, reduced. To be modified. It cannot be completely canceled," he said.

The presidential election in Russia will be held on March 18. Eight people were officially registered as presidential candidates (in alphabetical order): Sergey Baburin (Russian All-People’s Union party), Pavel Grudinin (Communist Party of the Russian Federation), Vladimir Zhirinovsky (LDPR), Vladimir Putin (self-nomination), Kseniya Sobchak (Civic Initiative), Maxim Suraykin (Communists of Russia), Boris Titov (Party of Growth), Grigory Yavlinsky (Yabloko).

Tags: Elections


1 / 3