Sobchak asked Putin to pardon 16 ‘political prisoners’

Sobchak asked Putin to pardon 16 ‘political prisoners’
Vladimir Putin and Ksenia Sobchak Photo: Mikhail Metzel / TASS

The journalist gave the President a list with the names of people who are considered as political prisoners. She asked Mr Putin to pardon them, the Head of state promised to consider the petition.

Ksenia Sobchak handed a petition of the political prisoners to President Vladimir Putin for granting them amnesty, the report on her website says. She handed the folder with the names and surnames to him during a meeting of all candidates for the post of Russian President in the Kremlin, which was held earlier on Monday.

There are 16 surnames in the list of Sobchak. These are the participants in the anti-corruption rally in March 2017 Stanislav Zimovets, Dmitry Borisov, Alexander Shpakov and Alexey Politikov, who imprisoned on charges of assaulting policemen. The list also includes video blogger and civil activist Vadim Tyumentsev, who received five years for posting a video that "stirs hatred towards the inhabitants of Donbass", journalists Yury Staroverov and Sergei Mokhnatkin, film director Oleg Sentsov and anti-fascist Alexander Kolchenko, who were accused of intending to commit a terrorist act in Simferopol, opposition activist Sergei Reznikov, accused of illegal possession of drugs.

In addition, the list includes former head of the security department of the YUKOS oil company Alexey Pichugin, Alexander Sokolov and Valery Parfyonov convicted of extremism, air traffic controller Petr Parpulov, accused over the high treason for transferring information published on the Red Star website to relatives from Georgia, oppositionist Alexey Navalny’s brother Oleg, accused of fraud and money laundering within the Yves Rocher’s case, professor of the Bauman MSTU Ivan Lapygin.

After processing 99.94% of the ballots, Vladimir Putin, who scored 76.68% of the vote, leads. Candidate from the Communist Party Pavel Grudinin got 11.78%. Leader of the LDPR Vladimir Zhirinovsky is ranked third with 5.65% of the vote, Ksenia Sobchak gained 1.68% of the vote, Grigory Yavlinsky - 1.05%. Boris Titov, Maxim Suraykin and Sergei Baburin scored less than 1% each.



1 / 3